boosterhost.blogg.se

Fun unraid setup
Fun unraid setup









So, the mission is to not burden my little NUC with vCenter and its 12GB RAM requirement and instead offload that role to my Unraid server so the NUC can focus on other things. I know I could probably just use Proxmox etc etc etc, but I like ESXi and so that’s what i’m going for. I want to have vCenter available as it does a lot of things you really need like setup VM Templates so creating a new machine is easy. The Unraid server has 64GB RAM, but the NUC isn’t so lucky. The main reason I am doing this is because I have an Unraid box which hosts various fileshares, and a NUC. This isn’t likely an optimal setup, but, if you want something that works for testing it might get you through. So, i’ve brought everything I know together into one place. The same settings on a Q35 motherboard and OVMF BIOS failed to see SATA drives for example, so you really do seem to have to be specific here. The tutorial below seems to be a golden path of sorts, and is the motherboard and bios type that worked for me.

#Fun unraid setup how to

I tried to find a guide on how to do this (and not the reverse of running Unraid on ESXi which seem to be everywhere!) and there seems to be a little missing in each case.

fun unraid setup

If you thought things weren’t ‘inceptiony’ enough already then enjoy that thought experiment! How to setup an ESXi install on Unraid Do it again, attach both ESXI ‘hosts’ to a vCenter cluster and try a vMotion. In case that is disappointing, just think that you would be using the Unraid OS to run that VM, then running VMWare Workstation in that VMs OS, installing ESXi as an OS on the VM, and then installing a VM in that OS. If you really do want to get something that works I would probably suggest just buying a copy of VMWare Workstation and running ESXi in that, which is supported and tested. UPDATE: While this works, i’ve since learned that it won’t actually join to a vCenter.









Fun unraid setup